The time to act is now

“With joy, our Yearly Meeting has made a commitment to becoming a low carbon sustainable community. The time to act is now.”
epistle of Britain Yearly Meeting 2011

Is it I, Lord?
You do not call me
in the night
but I hear You
in the trees, the rain, the sky.

I call you, yes,
to choose
and then to act
to leave milk and meat
to wash up rubbish
to squint at little numbers on the bottoms of plastic bottles
to wear warm baggy jumpers
and a hat.

I hear You call for more, my Lady,
I hear You weep
and shine with joy
on solar panels,
cyclists, gardeners,
crowds I cannot join.

No matter.
You have chosen,
and you act.
I call others to these other acts
and you are called
to more than just this:
to live as well as to recycle
to listen in your funny hat
to laugh while you walk.
The call may change.
Live. Listen. Laugh.

Tags: , , ,

One response to “The time to act is now”

  1. Rhiannon says :

    There’s a little of 1 Samuel 3 here, but perhaps more of Daniel L Schutte’s hymn “Here I Am, Lord”. “My Lady” is a common mode of address to Deity within the Wiccan and other pagan communities.

Leave a comment